Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...

duct-tape-boat-races-aug-09-086.jpg12th Annual

Duct Tape Regatta

The (Wet & Hilarious!) International Duct Tape Regatta returns to City Bay in North Hero Village in 2017 on Saturday, August 5th. Registration and inspection begin at 9am. The races start at 10am.

Contestants race their home-made boats from the North Hero House Beach to the Hero’s Welcome dock…a distance of approximately 600 ft. All ages are welcome!

The boats may be any length, and any design…the crazier the better…but must be constructed from only 2 materials: Cardboard and Duct Tape.  No staples, glue, metal, rubber, wood or resin…nothing else!

There will be 7 Heats*: 

Kids 6 and Under must be accompanied by adults walking through the water beside each boat. Adults will need water-ready beach shoes.

Kids 7-14 Singles

Kids 7-14 with 2 or more crew members. 

Adults 15 to 60  Singles 

Adults 15 to 60 with 2 or more crew members. 

Seniors  61 and over with any number of crew members.

Crazy Crews with mixed ages 7 and over with 2 or more paddlers.

* Heats may be adjusted according to turn-out

Propulsion is limited to feet, hands, single un-attached oars, canoe and kayak paddles. All racers must be wearing life vests.

Register on Race Day, beginning at 9am.

Registration Fee is just $10. per boat or $100 to sponsor the race.

Trophies for the Heat Winners, and for extraordinary feats, such as Biggest Wipe-Out, Most Creative Design, Most Effective Design, Most Determined Racers.

All proceeds will be donated to the North Hero Historical Society, for the further preservation of the North Hero Community Hall. 

More info? info@heroswelcome.com or 802-598-3743

 

 North Hero, Vermont

 You can also see what the Lake is up to from our very own webcam, mounted on top of our store!

 LCI International Fishing Derby

Lodging near North Hero, VT:

Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant (North Hero) - www.shoreacres.com

Expertly managed for many years by the same family. A favorite of returning "flatlanders" and local residents year over year. The setting on North Hero Island is breathtaking.

The North Hero House - www.northherohouse.com
Located in the center of North Hero village, directly on the shore of Lake Champlain. An ancient road house inn, fully updated, but wonderfully preserved. No two rooms alike! Fabulous restaurant as well, featuring Sunday Brunch and Saturday Lobster Dinner.

Adam's Landing Bed & Breakfast (Grand Isle) - www.adamslandingvt.com
Allenholm Farm (South Hero) - www.allenholm.com
Holiday Harbor Motel (North Hero) - www.holidayharbormotelvt.com
Ruthcliffe Lodge & Restaurant (Isle La Motte)- www.ruthcliffe.com

Porch Light Property Management & Rentals - www.porchlightpm.com

Great Rental Cottages We've Found:

The Turner Farmhouse www.turnerfarmhouse.com/index.html

Vermont State Parks - www.vtstateparks.com

Apple Island Resort - www.appleislandresort.com

The Fisk Farm - www.fiskfarm.com

Local Motion - www.localmotion.org

Island Arts - www.islandarts.org

St. Anne's Shrine - www.saintannesshrine.org

Alburgh Golf Club - www.alburggolflinks.com

Northland Boats - www.northlandboats.com

New England Power Boats Service - www.newenglandpowerboatservice.com/

Ladd's Landing Marina - www.laddslandingmarina.com

North Hero Marine - www.northhero.com

Apple Island Resort - www.appleislandresort.com

The North Hero House - www.northherohouse.com

Shore Acres - www.shoreacres.com

Ruthcliffe Lodge - www.ruthcliffe.com

The Blue Paddle - www.bluepaddlebistro.com

Ransom Bay Inn - www.bedandbreakfast.com/vermont-alburg-ransombayinnbedbreakfast.html

Grand Isle Lake House - www.grandislelakehouse.com

The North Hero House www.northherohouse.com

Shore Acres - www.shoreacres.com

Snow Farm Winery - www.snowfarm.com

Alburgh golf Club - www.alburggolflinks.com

Farmers' Markets

Darby Farm - www.darbyfarm.com

Allenholm Farm - www.allenholm.com

Savage Gardens - www.savagegardensvt.com

Grand Isle Nursery - www.grandislenursery.com

East Shore Vineyard - www.eastshorevineyard.com

Snow Farm Winery - www.snowfarm.com

Almost everyone who visits the Champlain Islands pauses, and considers moving in. Sound like you?
There are many qualified agents on the Islands. Here are some of the top producers we know very well, and can heartily recommend. All share a passion for, and deep knowledge of the islands.

Shari Swainbank www.lakechamplainrealestate.com/

Phil Gerbode www.lakechamplainrealestate.com/

Franz Rosenberger www.lakechamplainrealestate.com/

Larry Mumley www.lakechamplainrealestate.com/

Mary von Ziegesar www.luxuryrealestate.com/scripts/index.php

Andrea Champagne www.andreachampagne.com